Fury

by jaywcoombes

From the beach I could see the waves crash against the distant rocks. White foam surged into the air as the waves hurled themselves again and again against the jagged peaks rising from the water. The violent wind picked up the angry foam and threw it back against the turbulent ocean. Above all there was this constant roar of noise, rising and whirling around me.

I could see no animals at all. Not in the sea, nor on land, nor in the air. They had better sense than me. Nothing living should stand in the midst of a maelstrom like this, not if living is something they want to hold on to. Nature was tearing at nature with a primal force so extraordinary that my bewildered senses were overwhelmed.

I sank to my knees, feeling the grit of the sand beneath my skin, and was awed. Rain battered my face and stung my eyes, but I couldn’t bear to shut them. It had been too long since I felt this alive. I didn’t want to miss a second.

